The Kübler-Ross model, commonly known as the five stages of grief, describes, a process by which people deal with grief and tragedy, especially when diagnosed with a terminal illness or catastrophic loss
The progression of states is: 1. Denial –Denial is usually only a temporary defense for the individual.
This feeling is generally replaced with heightened awareness of
situations and individuals that will be left behind after death. 2. Anger –Once in the second stage, the individual recognizes that denial cannot continue. Because of anger, the person is very difficult to care for due to misplaced feelings of rage and envy. Any individual that symbolizes life or energy is subject to projected resentment and
jealousy. 3. Bargaining – The third stage involves the hope that the individualcan
somehow postpone or delay death. Usually, the negotiation for an extended life is made with a higher power in exchange for a reformed lifestyle. Psychologically, the individual is saying, “I understand I will die, but if I could just have more time…”
4. Depression –During the fourth stage, the dying person begins to understand the certainty of death. Because of this, the individual may become silent, refuse visitors and spend much of the time crying and grieving. This process allows the dying person to disconnect oneself from things of love and affection. It is not recommended to attempt to cheer up an individual who is in this stage. It is an important time for grieving that must be processed.
5. Acceptance –In this last stage, the individual begins to come to terms with their mortality or that of their loved one.
Copyright: Dr. G. Marquez

El Modelo Kubler-Ross describe en 5 etapas distintas, un proceso por el cual la gente lidia con el lamento y la tragedia, especialmente cuando es diagnosticada con una enfermedad terminal o una pérdida catastrófica.
1. Negación -La negación es solamente una defensa temporal para el individuo. Este sentimiento es generalmente remplazado con una sensibilidad aumentada de las situaciones e individuos que van a ser dejados atrás después de la muerte.
2. Ira -Una vez en la segunda etapa, el individuo reconoce que la negación no puede continuar. lLa persona es difícil de ser cuidada debido a sus sentimientos de ira y envidia. Cualquier individuo que simboliza vida o energía es sujeto a ser proyectado resentimiento y envidia.
3. Negociación -La tercer etapa involucra la esperanza de que el individuo puede de alguna forma posponer o retrasar la muerte. Usualmente, la negociación por una vida extendida es realizada con un poder superior a cambio de una forma de vida reformada.
4. Depresión -Durante la cuarta etapa, la persona que está muriendo empieza a entender la seguridad de la muerte. Debido a esto, el individuo puede volverse silencioso, rechazar visitas y pasar mucho tiempo llorando y lamentándose. Este proceso permite a la persona moribunda desconectarse de todo sentimiento de amor y cariño.
5. Aceptación -La etapa final llega con la paz y la comprensión de que
la muerte esta acercándose.
Copyright: Dr. G. Marquez

Average Rating: 4.9 out of 5 based on 279 user reviews.

Published by


Dr. Gelasia Marquez is an immigrant clinical and bilingual school psychologist. Dr. Marquez has studies, researches, articles, and programs aimed to help immigrant Hispanic children, adolescents and families in their processes of transition after migration